Triton students honored for community service | New


BYFIELD – Thirty-four students from Triton Regional High School are recognized by the United Nations Association of America and InnerView Technologies for their dedication to community service.

This is done through the fifth annual National Community Service Impact Awards.

The program, open to all U.S. high school students, is designed to connect students’ community service activities, skills development and personal engagement to the Sustainable Development Goals, or SDGs, needed to transform the world, according to a statement from the organizations.

The Kroger Co. presents the third annual Zero Hero Awards to students for taking action to help create communities without hunger or waste.

“The efforts and voices of young people are essential to achieving the SDGs,” said Rachel Bowen Pittman, executive director of the United Nations Association of the United States, in the statement. The United Nations Association of America is a grassroots movement of Americans who support the work of the United Nations in American communities, colleges, and Congress.

“These awards allow us to share our appreciation for young leaders who have invested talent and effort in causes close to their hearts,” she said. “With a decade to go to achieve the SDGs, we are thrilled that these students are entering the workforce with meaningful community engagement skills and socially responsible experiences. We are encouraged that educators include community service and cultural engagement in their students’ educational experience. »

Triton students participating in the program have accumulated 1,776 hours of service. These volunteer hours are converted into monetary impact value by InnerView and amount to more than $64,000 in time and resources donated by Triton students to area communities.

Triton Regional School District Superintendent Brian Forget gave the praise.

“Service to our local community is such an essential part of feeling connected to the greater good, yet it often becomes a ‘checkbox’ for high school students,” he said in the statement. “I am thrilled with the efforts of our students and the partnership with UNA and InnerView, as it has fostered genuine and genuine opportunities for students to engage with our local community.”

Student efforts are categorized and this year had the most impact towards “Sustainable Development Goal #3 – Good Health and Wellbeing”.

Triton Principal Patrick Kelley shared his thoughts on student volunteering.

“We are so proud of the service efforts of our students. Triton students continued to give of themselves for the good of their community. Those who receive recognition exemplify the values ​​we hope all students will achieve,” he said.

Kristine Sturgeon, CEO of InnerView Technologies, said, “Purpose-driven students continue to generously invest time and talent in causes close to their hearts. We are honored to work with the national ecosystem of services and local communities to amplify and recognize the meaningful work of student volunteers who create a better world for all.

InnerView is a youth social responsibility platform that helps students, groups and schools promote community service impact, passion for causes, skills development and connects local efforts to the Nations Sustainable Development Goals United, according to the press release.

A key aspect that students gain through the rewards program is the development of a digital service resume for use in job and college applications to demonstrate their personal commitment, 21st century skills, and major areas of work. interest, according to the release. The three-tier awards program recognizes a range of student achievement: Merit for 20 hours, Honor for 40 hours and Ambassador for 100 hours of service this school year, and special recognition for a focus on “Zero Hunger” and ” Zero Waste”.

Honorary winners: Grace Aponas, Alyssa Mullen, Ryan Walsh and Sophia Walsh.

Merit winners: Douglas Aylward, Arianna Basile, Elise Blanchet, Evelyn Buxton, Sadie Clifford, Savannah Colbert, Madeline Doring, Sara Hanson, Grayson (Riley) Hillemeyer, Aileen Huang, Paulan Huang, Natalie Indingaro, Tihan Khan, Ava Kiricoples, Olivia Kiricoples, Sophia Lesinski , Carolyn Lucy, Alex McManus, Ben Norton, Brinda Patel, Emma Penniman, Katharine Price, Abigail Rainsford, Anna Romano, Ashley Silva, Carl Tirone, Kate Trojan and Ella Visconti.

Zero Hero winners: Grace Aponas, Arianna Basile, Isabella Basile, Delaney Lucia, Alyssa Mullen, Ben Norton, Ryan Walsh and Sophia Walsh.

Source link


Comments are closed.