Leon Berthiaume Honored with Northwestern Medical Center Community Service Award |


NMC Board Chairman Jake Holzscheiter (left) presents Leon Berthiaume with the community service award.

ST. ALBANS — The Northwestern Medical Center (NMC) Board of Trustees has announced that Leon Berthaium will be the recipient of the 2022 NMC Community Service Award in recognition of his long and dedicated service to the community.

Berthiaume’s nomination indicates that he inspires others to get involved, make a difference and give back to the community. His appointment included recognition of his service as the NMC’s boar chair during the facility’s most recent major renovations, and his tenure as a member of the St. Albans Rotary where he worked on projects like a collection of coats and the now annual tractor parade. He was a strong leader for the St. Albans Cooperative Creamery, where he always encouraged employees to give back and is part of Dairy Farmers of America which continues to support community involvement. Today, he serves on the boards of the Franklin County Industrial Development Corporation, the Peoples Trust Company, and the Vermont Business Roundtable.

The award was presented by Vice Chairman of the Board, John Casavant, who thanked Berthiaume for his service to the CNG Board and his incredible generosity of time and support.

“I am truly honored to receive this special and meaningful recognition,” said Berthiaume. “I am grateful and proud to have served the NMC organization and the Franklin County community over the years.” He said he appreciates the support of his family and his employer who allowed him to be so involved.

The NMC Community Service Award was established by the NMC Board of Directors in 2013 to recognize an individual or organization residing in Franklin or Grand Isle counties who demonstrates enthusiasm, integrity and of perseverance beyond the ordinary to help fellow citizens and the community through selfless donations to improve the overall health of the community. Nominations are invited from NMC’s Board of Directors, Staff, Medical Staff, Volunteers and Founders. The NMC Board of Directors makes the selection from among the nominations.

The NMC Community Service Award is presented annually at a meeting of the NMC Founders. Recipients receive a Memorial Crystal Maple Leaf award and have their names added to a plaque that hangs in the CMN Conference Center. Past recipients of the NMC Community Services Award are: Dr. Thomas Howrigan; Marcia Perry; Helen Biggie; Dr. Frank and Judy Zsoldos; retired Rear Admirals Warren and Barbara Hamm; Emerson Lynn; Kathleen Keenan, RN, Pam Cross, RN and Janet McCarthy, RN.

Source link


Comments are closed.